The University of Wollongong (commonly referred to as the Wollongong University), abbreviated as UOW, is a public research university located in the coastal city of Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia, approximately 80 kilometers south of Sydney.

In 1951, a foundation of the University of Wollongong was founded as a division of the New South Wales University of Technology in Wollongong, New South Wales. A decade later, the Division became the Wollongong College of the University of New South Wales. In 1975, the University of Wollongong gained its autonomy as an independent institution of higher learning by the New South Wales Parliament.

The Wollongong Campus as the University's Main Campus is located on the New South Wales coast, 3 km from the Centre of Wollongong and 80 km from the South of Sydney, and served by the North Wollongong railway station which opened in 1915.

The Wollongong Campus offers a comprehensive range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses. The Courses are offered across nine faculties including Arts, Commerce, Creative Arts, Education, Engineering, Health & Behavioral Sciences, Informatics, Law and Science. All together, nearly 30,000 students attend classes along with around 2000 staffs on the Wollongong Campus. Apart from the extensive teaching and research buildings, the Campus includes student residences, conference facilities, food halls, cafes, restaurant and bar, conferences facilities, indoor sports centers and gymnasium, Olympic-standard swimming pool and sports fields.

  • Faculty of Business
    • School of Accounting & Finance
    • School of Economics
    • School of Management & Marketing
    • Sydney Business School
  • Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences
    • School of Civil, Mining & Environmental Engineering
    • School of Engineering Physics
    • School of Mechanical, Materials & Mechatronic Engineering
    • School of Electrical, Computer & Telecommunications Engineering (SECTE)
    • School of Computer Science & Software Engineering (SCSSE)
    • School of Information Systems & Technology (SISAT)
    • School of Mathematics & Applied Statistics (SMAS)
    • SMART Infrastructure Facility
  • Faculty of Law, Humanities and The Arts
    • School of Law
    • School of Arts
    • School of Creative Arts
    • School of English Literatures & Philosophy
    • Language Centre
    • School of History & Politics
    • School of Social Sciences, Media & Communication
    • Indigenous Studies Unit
  • Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health
    • Graduate School of Medicine
    • Illawarra Health & Medical Research Institute
    • School of Biology
    • School of Chemistry
    • School of Earth & Environmental Sciences
    • School of Health Sciences
    • School of Nursing, Midwifery & Indigenous Health
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
    • School of Education
    • School of Psychology


The Wollongong University has more than 19,291 undergraduate students and 8781 postgraduate students and has an academic staff of 936 people.

The University of Wollongong has affiliated to a number of associations and organizations:

The Member of Universities Australia

The Member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)

The Member of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)

The Member of the Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL)

The Member of the Australian European Network (AEN), related to the Utrecht Network

The Member of the International Association of Universities (IAU)

The Associate Member of the Group of Eight, Deans of Engineering and Associates