The University Of New England (UNE) is an Australian public university with 17,896 higher education students. Its original and main campus is located in the city of Armidale in north central New South Wales. The University of New England was the first Australian university established outside a state capital city. Each year, the University offers students more than $5 million in scholarships, prizes, and bursaries and more than $18 million for staff and students involved in research.

The University of New England was originally established in 1938 as the New England University College, a College of the University of Sydney. It became fully independent in 1954.

The University of New England is located on several sites in Armidale. The northern campus of the University is five kilometers to the northwest of the city centre, in a rural and bush land setting. Part of this campus includes the original property presented by T R Forster to the University of Sydney for the establishment of a University College. This property comprised the old homestead, 'Booloominbah', together with several other buildings and 74 hectares of land. Since the original gift, a number of other generous benefactors have presented properties to the University, whose Armidale site now comprises some 260 hectares.

The research and teaching staff of the University of New England, Australia, is divided into two faculties, which are in turn divided into 10 multi-disciplinary schools. Each faculty is headed by an Executive Dean. The faculties and schools are as follows:

  • School of Arts
  • School of Behavioral, Cognitive and Social Sciences
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Environmental and Rural Science
  • School of Science and Technology
  • School of Law
  • School of Education
  • School of Health
  • School of Rural Medicine
  • UNE Business School

The University currently offers over 200 programs in 23 discipline areas. There are currently 13,463 undergraduates and 4,433 post graduate students with the admin and academic staff of 1500 people.