RMIT University (officially the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, and simply referred to as RMIT) is an Australian university of technology and design based in Melbourne, Victoria.

It opened as a night school for instruction in art, science and technology—to support the industrialization of Melbourne during the late-19th century. It had an initial enrollment of 320 students. Today, RMIT is the largest tertiary education provider in Australia. As of 2012, it has an enrolment of around 82,000 students across vocational, undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

RMIT's foundation campus is its Melbourne City campus, which is located in the northern section of the Melbourne city centre. It was established in 1887—as the Working Men's College of Melbourne, in a single building on the corner of La Trobe Street and Bowen Street. As of 2010, the campus occupies a gross floor area of 307,466 m2 over 68 buildings.

Unlike traditional walled universities, the City campus is a contiguous part of the Melbourne city centre's northern section. Most buildings are concentrated around six city blocks (in an area of roughly 720,000 m2) north of the Hoddle Grid. It is bound by La Trobe Street to the south, Lygon Street and Russell Street to the east, Queensberry Street and Victoria Street to the north, Elizabeth Street and Swanston Street to the west. The densest area of the campus, east of Swanston Street, is sometimes referred to as the "RMIT Quarter" of the City.

RMIT's City campus is noted for its variety of heritage Victorian and striking contemporary architecture. The Bundoora campus was established in 1995.It is located 18 km from the City campus in the outer northern suburb of Bundoora. The campus is divided into 'East' and 'West' by Plenty Road. In a contrast to the urban City campus, the Bundoora West campus is set amongst almost 400,000 m2 of parkland. Programs in aerospace engineering, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, medical sciences and social sciences are offered at the Bundoora campus.

The Brunswick campus became a part of RMIT in 1999 as a dedicated site for its design TAFE schools. It is located 6 km from the City campus in the inner northern suburb of Brunswick. Prior to its annexation by RMIT, it was the campus of the former Melbourne Institute of Textiles for nearly 50 years. Programs in fashion design, graphic design, printing, publishing and textiles are offered at the Brunswick campus.

RMIT's flight training programs are conducted from its site at the Royal Australian Air Force's historic Williams base. It is located 20 km from the City campus in the outer south-western suburb of Point Cook. RAAF Williams is the world's oldest operating air force base and the birthplace of the Royal Australian Air Force.

RMIT is separated into two divisions: the Higher Education Division and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) Division. The divisions are responsible for RMIT's 24 academic schools (21 higher education schools including a graduate/professional school and three TAFE schools). The schools are grouped into three academic portfolios which are referred to as colleges. The higher education schools offer both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.

  • RMIT School of Accounting
  • RMIT School of Business IT and Logistics
  • RMIT School of Business TAFE
  • RMIT School of Economics, Finance and Marketing
  • RMIT School of Management
  • RMIT Graduate School of Business and Law
  • RMIT School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • RMIT School of Applied Sciences
  • RMIT School of Civil, Environmental and Chemical Engineering
  • RMIT School of Computer Science and Information Technology
  • RMIT School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • RMIT School of Engineering TAFE
  • RMIT School of Health Sciences
  • RMIT School of Life and Physical Sciences
  • RMIT School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences
  • RMIT School of Medical Sciences
  • RMIT School of Architecture and Design
  • RMIT School of Art
  • RMIT School of Design TAFE
  • RMIT School of Education
  • RMIT School of Fashion and Textiles
  • RMIT School of Global, Urban and Social Studies
  • RMIT School of Media and Communication
  • RMIT School of Property, Construction and Project Management
  • RMIT Design Research Institute
  • RMIT Global Cities Research Institute
  • RMIT Health Innovations Research Institute
  • RMIT Platform Technologies Research Institute
  • RMIT School of Graduate Research

The staff strength at RMIT University is above 3600 and current undergraduate are 44,979 and post graduates are 11,745. The total strength at RMIT University is above 82,179.