The Australian National University (ANU) is a university in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory. Located in the suburb of Acton, the main campus encompasses seven teaching and research colleges, in addition to several national institutes.

Founded in 1946, it is the only university to have been created by the Parliament of Australia. Originally a postgraduate research university, ANU commenced undergraduate teaching in 1960 when it integrated the Canberra University College, which had been established in 1929 as a Canberra campus of the University of Melbourne.

The main campus of ANU extends across the Canberra suburb of Acton, which consists of 358 acres (1.45 km2) of mostly parkland with university buildings landscaped within. Many university sites are of historical significance dating from the establishment of the national capital, with over 40 buildings recognized by the Commonwealth Heritage List and several others on local lists.

ANU offers a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs by the University’s seven colleges: 

  • ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences
  • ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
  • ANU College of Business and Economics
  • ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science
  • ANU College of Law
  • ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment
  • ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences


ANU has around 18,514 students (10,231 undergraduate and 8,283 postgraduate) and 3,819 staff and had a total endowment of a $1.237 billion in 2010.

The Australian National University is ranked 1st nationally, 27th in the world (and 3rd in Asia-Pacific) in the 2013/2014 QS World University Rankings, ANU counts six Nobel laureates among its faculty and alumni.

ANU is a member of the Group of Eight and the International Alliance of Research Universities. As Australia’s only member of this prestigious association, ANU enjoys close relationships (and with exchange partners of) University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, University of California, Berkeley, Yale University, Peking University, National University of Singapore, University of Tokyo, University of Copenhagen and ETH Zurich.

In the Global Employability University Ranking 2013, an annual global ranking measuring universities performance on graduate employability, ANU is ranked 1st nationally, 20th in the world and 3rd in Asia-Pacific.